Math Trick Phone Number

Math Trick Phone Number Here is a math trick so unbelievable that it will stump you. Personally I would like to know who came up with this and why that person is not running
the country.

1. Grab a calculator. (you won’t be able to do this one in your
head)

2. Key in the first three digits of your phone number (NOT the area
code)

3. Multiply by 80

4. Add 1

5. Multiply by 250

6. Add the last 4 digits of your phone number

7. Add the last 4 digits of your phone number again.

8. Subtract 250

9. Divide number by 2

Do you recognize the answer ??????

One Response to “Math Trick Phone Number”

  1. ZeroSum Tool Says:

    This math trick is great! It’s personal to the student so hard-hitting. It’s also neat to show the kids how they can come up with their own math tricks with algebra (although some may like to keep it magic!)

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE math tricks! I found one online and made an animation of it. It’s on my blog at http://zerosumruler.wordpress.com/

    Really, I should have made my own and I can’t wait to teach my students next year that they can make their own, too! I get to teach a number theory class next year and I am SUPER excited to add it to the Algebra 2 class, which can be a bore, but interesting at times, I already teach.

    Go math tricks!!

Leave a Reply

